Revolutionary Classics: Alexander McQ

 Facebook 的朋友仔在數月前已有savage beauty exhibition 的posting。 單看相片已十分十分有張力。 十分震撼!

Savage beauty 是一個exhibition 在 The Metropolitan Museum of Art 的Iris and B Cantor exhibition hall 內。整個exhibition 貫穿着McQueen 的骨幹主義: polarized opposites, life & death, lightness & darkness, predator/ prey, man/ machine。

唸fashion design 的時候, 老師當然會介紹下McQueen 的作品,當時片面地驚歎他的execution和背後意念,什麼十九世紀,什麼Victorian Gothic etc.  人大了,今天倒回看對McQueen 的背後意念和極端的表現方法都是classics 中的classics。

“There’s blood beneath every layer of skin.” – McQueen

“The inspiration behind the hair came from Victorian times when prostitutes would sell theirs for kits of hair locks, which were bought by people to give to their lovers. I used it as my signature label with locks of hair in Perspex. In the early collections, it was my own hair.”  Mcqueen

“I like to think of myself as a plastic surgeon with a knife.”- McQueen

It is important to look at death because it is a part of life. It is a sad thing, melancholy but romantic at the same time. It is the end of a cycle—everything has to end. The cycle of life is positive because it gives room for new things.” – McQueen

“People find my things sometimes aggressive. But I don’t see it as aggressive. I see it as romantic, dealing with a dark side of personality.” – McQueen

I want to be honest about the world that we live in, and sometimes my political persuasions come through in my work. Fashion can be really racist, looking at the clothes of other cultures as costumes. . . . That’s mundane and it’s old hat. Let’s break down some barriers.” McQueen

“Remember Sam Taylor-Wood’s dying fruit? Things rot. . . . I used flowers because they die. My mood was darkly romantic at the time.” McQueen

“There is no way back for me now. I am going to take you on journeys you’ve never dreamed were possible.” McQueen

“When we put the antlers on the model and then draped over it the lace embroidery that we had made, we had to poke them through a £2,000 piece of work. But then it worked because it looks like she’s rammed the piece of lace with her antlers. There’s always spontaneity. You’ve got to allow for that in my shows.” McQueen

這個slideshow需要JavaScript。

A great designer is always a great story teller!

 

發表迴響

